The Board

Cambridge Junction is governed by a board of non-executive trustees who support and guide the organisation to ensure it meets its objectives.


Members of the board of trustees are:


Nicola Buckley (Chair) is Associate Director, Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge, where she organises programmes linking policy makers with academic researchers. She was previously Head of Public Engagement at the University of Cambridge, managing the team delivering the annual Cambridge Science Festival and Cambridge Festival of Ideas. Prior to her role at the University, she worked in the UK voluntary sector as a fundraising and communications manager. Board member since May 2014.


Christine Doddington  is a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Education, University of Cambridge. Her academic research and teaching is in the practice and philosophy of the arts and education. She was one of the three Associate Directors of The Cambridge Primary Review (2006-2008), a comprehensive review of Primary Education. She is the author (with Mary Hilton) of Child-centred Education: Reviving the Creative Tradition (2007). Christine is a former member of the executive of the Philosophy of Education Society of GB, the current co-ordinator of the Cambridge branch and is a member of the International Advisory Board of the journal Education 3-13.  Board member since September 2010.


Jon Payne (Treasurer) is an Audit Senior Manager at Deloitte Cambridge. His current portfolio comprises a wide range of clients, including an early stage AIM group, a professional football club, a software company and a multinational group in the telecoms sector. Board member since March 2013.


Dr Merav Rosenfeld Dr Merav Rosenfeld (PhD, University of Cambridge) is a Research Fellow and Co-Principal Investigator at the Woolf Institute, and a Research Associate at St Edmund's College, The University of Cambridge. She specialises in Middle Eastern music. She has been awarded numerous prizes and grants in the UK, USA and Israel, and published her research in peer-reviewed publications. Previously, Merav was a Senior Economist and a Lecturer at the United Mizrahi Bank for eleven years; a Nationwide Bursar of fifty musical conservatories at the Israeli Ministry of Education for three years; and an author of music programmes for schoolchildren, aimed at developing values of peace between various religious and ethnic groups. Board member since May 2014.


Godric Smith is a senior communications strategist and in 2013 he founded Inc London. He worked for three Prime Ministers at Downing Street for over 10 years between 1996 and 2012.  He was Tony Blair's Official Spokesman from 2001–04 and his Head of Strategic Communications from 2004–06. He was Director of Communications for London 2012 for the Olympic Delivery Authority and the Government from 2006–12. Godric was awarded the CBE in 2004. Board member since March 2013.


Julius Stobbs is an intellectual property lawyer and founder of Stobbs. Previously he has been Head of Trade Marks at Ipulse and a Partner at a major European firm for seven years. His firm advises major international brand owners (including O2, Tesco, McDonald’s, Yahoo! and Nike) on the creation, protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights. He grew up in Cambridge, and after a ten year spell working in London has set up his business in the Cambridge area. Board member since March 2013.


Michael Stone is Managing Director at the London office of Vermilion Partners, the leading China-based investment banking firm, which has offices in Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. He specialises in advising non-Chinese and Chinese enterprises in the Chemicals and Industrials sectors on expanding their businesses in China and overseas by M&A, joint ventures and other corporate structures. He was previously a partner at Europa Partners, based in St James's London. Prior to this he held a number of managing director and director-level posts in equity research at international investment banking firms including HSBC, Deutsche Bank and SG Warburg (now UBS). He has also worked as a technology journalist, deputy editor and editor at Reed Business Press. He holds a first class degree in Chemistry from the University of London. He lives in Newnham, Cambridge. Board member since August 2010.


Helen Taylor was Literature Development Officer for Cambridgeshire County Council for nine years and is now a Literature Consultant and works for the Poet Laureate as PA and Laureate Project Coordinator. At present she is Project Director for the Thresholds poetry and museums project. Previously, Helen has taught in secondary schools for five years before becoming Head of Education at The Poetry Society. She has taught on the University of Cambridge’s MA in Children’s Literature and the PGCE course at Homerton College. She has been a director of two Poetry Festivals and is now on the programming committee of CambridgeWordfest. She has also worked for Cambridge City Council as Community Arts Liaison Officer and founded her own company The Voices Project, which developed and delivered creative projects in the community for local authorities. Board member since June 2010.


Richard Arnold is a Director of Wrenbridge Sport, which specialises in the delivery of new stadia, sport and leisure facilities through major mixed-use real estate development.  Prior to setting up Wrenbridge Sport, Richard was a project director with the Olympic Delivery Authority with responsibility for the development of 10 of the new permanent and temporary venues built for the London 2012 Games.  He grew up in Cambridge and has returned to the area following a number of years working in London.  Board member since July 2016.